Gainesville, Ga., (July 5, 2010) – The Bass Federation announced today the 2010 National Guard Junior World Championship will be held on Lake Lanier in Gainesville, Ga., August 5-8, in conjunction with the most prestigious event in tournament fishing, the Forrest Wood Cup. The 2010 NGJWC will feature 82 youth anglers from 41 states fishing for over $30,000 in scholarships and prizes. Two junior champions from each state, one in each age bracket, 11-14 and 15-18, will vie for the championship titles. This year’s contest will make history, as the junior anglers will be launching every morning from Laurel Park right behind the biggest names in the industry that are fishing the Forrest Wood Cup.

“The 2010 NGJWC is shaping up to be another exciting event; never before has this happened in any major youth tournament,” National Youth Director, Mark Gintert, said. “For the first time our junior anglers will fish part of the same lake with the greatest anglers in the world, the FLW Tour Pros. It’s going to provide tons of exposure for our TBF junior anglers, especially at launch each morning. I’m sure all of our young stars will have the time of their lives!”

Daily weigh-ins will be held at Laurel Park Amphitheater and will stream out on the internet. Friday night anglers will be treated to one of the most talked about traditions of the NGJWC, the National Guard Pizza Party. A night full of games, entertainment, and sponsor prizes all served up by the National Guard pro team.

Every boat will have one junior angler from each age group plus a boat captain who will assist the junior anglers, but will not fish. The two junior anglers will share control of the boat for the day, competing in their respective age groups. The full field of junior anglers will compete Fri., Aug. 6. Then, only the top angler in each age bracket from each TBF division will move on. Weights will be zeroed Sat. Aug. 7 as the remaining 14 anglers continue competition. In each age bracket, every angler who advances to Saturday’s competition will receive a sponsor package and a scholarship; the scholarship amounts, on top of the sponsor packages, are as follows: 1st-$5,000; 2nd-$2,750; 3rd-$1,350; 4th-$1,350; 5th-$800; 6th-$600; 7th-$500.

The Gainesville community is reflecting the same excitement, welcoming our coming with tremendous support. “The City of Gainesville is extremely proud to host this prestigious junior world championship,” Tracy Whitmire, the Convention and Facilities Sales Manager of Gainesville Tourism and Trade stated. “Hosting so many families from across the country will provide incredible exposure for our city and we expect to see these families for years to come. The junior anglers will have an experience of a life time fishing with the Pro’s of the Forrest Wood Cup and enjoying the beautiful city of Gainesville, where we are known for our world class hospitality.”

Qualifying for the 2010 TBF National Guard Junior World Championship is quite a feat, as most competed for a year to advance through each states qualifying structure. So, these anglers have worked long and hard to reach this level and are the best junior anglers in the world. No doubt, as young anglers from across the country are making plans to travel and compete out of Gainesville, Ga., the excitement certainly heating up.

11-14 Age Group

McKinley Mosley Toxey, Alabama

Shane Edgar Glendale, Arizona

Clay Shatley Hot Springs, Arkansas

Justin Malpass Clyde, California

Griffin Johnston Centennial, Colorado

Michael Toohey Shelton, Connecticut

Devon Braun Camden, Delaware

David Darby East Palatka, Florida

Regan Green Macon, Georgia

Alex Schneidermann Buhl, Idaho

Ryan Spencer Tolono, Illinois

Kyle Mahorney Greenwood, Indiana

Justin Niccum Independence, Missouri

Ryan Dowell Brandenburg, Kentucky

James Kimbrough Bossier City, Louisiana

Kaitlyn Deering Portland, Maine

Jacob Hollingshead Manchester, Maryland

Maxwell Danese Franklin, Massachusetts

Daniel Sprague Hastings, Michigan

Tarin Lehn Alexandria, Minnesota

Ty Jobe Olive Branch, Mississippi

Andrew Honigman Harrisonville, Missouri

Taylor Stanley Lincoln, Nebraska

Francisca Mendive Elko, Nevada

Ari Rosenzweig Scotch Plains, New Jersey

Alec Morrison Peru, New York

Triston Owens Marion, North Carolina

Benjamin Guegold Westerville, Ohio

Matthew Hasenfratz Ponca City, Oklahoma

Desmond McVay Eugene, Oregon

Brent Engleman Milton, Pennsylvania

Conor Rana Bradford, Rhode Island

Joshua Knowlton Sumter, South Carolina

John Garrett Union City, Tennessee

Austin Ellis Kingsland, Texas

Corey Quintana Roy, Utah

Adrian Forbes Fairfield, Vermont

Zachary Francis Abingdon, Virginia

Richard Davey Kennewick, Washington

Alex Goff Clendenin, West Virginia

Steven Sellnow Watertown, Wisconsin

15-18 Age Group

Skeeter Benford Phil Campbell, Alabama

Ryan Petersen Phoenix, Arizona

Dustin Holmes Amity, Arkansas

Matthew English Canyon Lake, California

Connor Santos Colorado Springs, Colorado

Brandon Annunziata North Haven, Connecticut

Kurt Mitchell Milford, Delaware

Michael Maskevich Jr. Tallahassee, Florida

Robert (Taylor) Minick Valdosta, Georgia

Asa Schneidermann Buhl, Idaho

Bradley Burton Champaign, Illinois

Greg Zellers Winamac, Indiana

Chandler Young Independence, Missouri

Jared Raymer Brandenburg, Kentucky

Cameron Mattison Bossier City, Louisiana

Nicholas Deering Portland, Maine

John Duarte Baltimore, Maryland

Robert Ramasci Wakefield, Massachusetts

Alexander Cataldo Fenton, Michigan

Matt Schneider Maple Lake, Minnesota

Lane Kemper Olive Branch, Mississippi

Drake Young Lincoln, Missouri

Corey Miller Lincoln, Nebraska

Josh Paxton Spring Creek, Nevada

Niklas Goebel Wst Milford, New Jersey

Brett Carnright Plattsburgh, New York

Cody Stegall Mt. Pleasant, North Carolina

Eddie Levin Westerville, Ohio

Jacob Beam Ponca City, Oklahoma

Nicholas Chin Gresham, Oregon

Austin Oberdorf Milton, Pennsylvania

Dillon Falardeau Slatersville, Rhode Island

Shane Cantley Elgin, South Carolina

Brier Daniel Collinwood, Tennessee

Tanner Worley Bedford, Texas

Corey Higgins Lehi, Utah

Taylor Bahr Randolph, Vermont

Nicholas Bodsford Richmond, Virginia

Nikolas Autrey Chewelah, Washington

Zach Whitten Oceana, West Virginia

Kyler Chelminiak Hales Corners, Wisconsin

The Bass Federation Inc., (TBF), is the oldest and largest, organized grassroots fishing organization in America. TBF is owned by those it serves and is dedicated to the sport of fishing. TBF affiliated state federations and their member clubs conduct more than 20,000 fishing, youth and conservation events at the local level each year, and have provided the foundation for the entire bass fishing industry for more than 40 years.

For more information about The Bass Federation, visit, or call 580.765.9031.

For more information about Student Anglers Federation, visit, or call 580.765.9031